My After School Friend

I am closing in on month 4 of my Korean adventure, and my blog posting has begun to dwindle. This is probably a combination of laziness, and the fact that the longer I am here, the more things just seem “normal.” Whatever may be interesting or extraordinary for someone in the states has become my every day life. So, instead of trying to catch you up on almost a month’s worth of goings-on, I will tell you the story of my favorite thing to have happened in Korean thus far.

There is an old man who works at my school and acts as a security guard of sorts. From what I have come to understand, he stays over night looking after the school on a sort of volunteer basis. It’s hard to miss him as he slowly walks around the school, silently observing students and teachers alike. The strangest thing about it, though, is that for reasons I do not understand, his English is great. And so, we have become After School Friends.

On Wednesdays, he comes into my classroom around 3:00 p.m. and we have conversations in English. He will ask me various things about the English language. For instance, how the words “wrong” and “long” sound differently. One day he came in, sang me an entire song in English, which included the words “sun burnt hands.” He then wrote the phrase on the board and asked me what it meant. I always look forward to our exchanges and to answering his questions. But last week, he took it to another level.

He brought me a letter addressed to Hillary Clinton and asked me to proofread it for him. The letter explained this man’s plan for how Hillary should join the United States and Canada together to defeat China. After I finished reading it, he asked me to give it to her directly. He had heard I would be traveling to the United States soon and asked if I would make sure “Her Excellency Hillary Clinton” got the letter. I told him I would try my best.

He then continued to tell me that if I want to, I should run for President of the United States. He said, “I can tell by your face that you can do anything you want to do, if you try hard.”

I have a lot of questions for my After School Friend. Why does he love Hillary Clinton? Why does he want me to run for President? What is his name? But, for now I will simply choose to look forward to our Wednesday meetings, and hope he brings me more letters for Hillary.

 

2 comments

  1. 1world2feet · December 2, 2015

    This is a wonderful story! You’re a great writer!

    Like

  2. Gracie · December 2, 2015

    This is amazing, I love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

